eltpic 2000

Yesterday (Tuesday March 15) the 2000th photo was added to the #eltpics collection on flickr. This is how it appeared on my Tweetdeck screen. (If you don’t know about the #eltpics Twitter initiative follow the link above.)

image by @ij64 on flickr (eltpics)

Alongside the 2000th image came a challenge, to share a lesson idea to go with this beautiful image by @ij64.

tweeted by @fionamau

These were the first two responses, both of which I’d love to try out with a class:

This is my contribution to the challenge:

I love the depth of this photo and the way it changes as you focus on the nets in the foreground or the boats in the background. It’s almost like two images in one.

I’d love to project this image onto our whiteboard, with the lights off, concentrate on the image and let the students form their own reactions, interpretations and connections.  I’d give them say 10 to 30 seconds to do that and then ask them to imagine the sounds and smells and sensations of the scene.  Sensations is the most difficult, I guess.  I’d guide them asking them if it was warm or cold, asking them to look up at the imaginary sky: what colour is it? Is it cloudy? What clothes are you wearing? How does the air feel on your skin?

We’d annotate the photo with words that came up, something like we did with this close-up of sand. If you don’t have an IWB in your classroom, you can take a photo. It works just as well.

There are lots of links here for my current students.  We live in a town with a working port. We’re surrounded by sea.  I would ask them where they thought this photo was taken. Whether it could have been taken locally, and if not, why not.  And if not locally, then where?  I guess they’d say the North of Spain.  And they’d be right. It was taken in Rio de Ferrol, Galicia.  (As Dan  suggests in his comment below, if you have wifi in the classroom you might want to find out more about Ferrol. See Dan’s comment for an extension on this). Though for me, where it was actually taken is not as important as the associations it has for the students.  In this case there are lots of connections with Galicia.  A lot of my students have Galician surnames and Galician relatives. I guess this could open up a rich vein of conversation.

If you wanted to use it with students who don’t live near a port, it should still be easy enough to ask them to imagine where in their country there might be similar scenes. It doesn’t need to be a sea scene either, it could be a river (I’m thinking at the moment of, say, land-locked Hungary and the cargo boats on the Danube.)

I’d also show them this “sister” image, another eltpic from Ian, and ask them which they prefer and why and what made them different. I’d ask them which they’d hang on a wall and where and why. Or if either was used as a poster for a film, or  cover for a book, what kind of film or book would it be?

water by @ij64 at eltpics on flickr

And having done all that I’d share the #eltpics flickr mosaic for the close-ups topic and ask them to take some of their own for the next class.  Who knows, they might even want to contribute them to the collection?

This entry was posted in #eltpics, using images and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to eltpic 2000

  1. ALiCe__M says:

    I absolutely love your close up at the top. The pure transparency intertwined with movement, and light, that goes into the heart of it, to the very molecules of water and salt, and the softness of sand, its soothing colour, framing the beauty.

  2. Ceri Jones says:

    merci du coeur 🙂 I think I like your comment more than the image!

  3. Dan says:

    For me the photo evokes the place more than the weather, so I’d use it to get the learners thinking about the kind of place the photo was taken. “This photo is taken near a town. Where is the town? How big is it? What are the main industries there? What are the people like? Would you like to live there? How are things different now from 50 years ago?…” and so on.

    We’d build up an image of this town in the classroom, then we’d read an edited text about the town (is it Ferrol?) from wikipedia or similar. The learners could bring in photos they find that evoke a sense of place to talk about in future lessons or they could write descriptions of places based on these photos.

    So much from so little. As they say, a thousand words….

  4. Ceri says:

    Hi Dan!
    Yes, great extension, and so easy with a projector and wifi :). I’d definitely envisage doing this in the conversation that might develop in the stage where they identify the location of the photo and compare it to places in their country. In fact I’m going to add a footnote to your idea there. Hope you don’t mind!

  5. I LOVED your suggestion for using the picture: ” then ask them to imagine the sounds and smells and sensations of the scene” . I do a lot of work with pictures with my deaf students but have never tried that!
    Thanks!!

  6. seburnt says:

    I love your post, Ceri. But seriously, where’s your tweet button? =P

  7. Pingback: Collaborative Writing Class « The Breathy Vowel

    • Ceri Jones says:

      Hi Kieran,
      Thanks for calling by! I’d be interested in hearing more about the peer observations, how you set them up, how they work re timetables and payment and the like. There are so many great ways of promoting observation as a positive experience. We need to share them 🙂
      Ceri

  8. Pingback: USE YOUR SENSES with the 2nd conditional! | Visualising Ideas

  9. Pingback: How to join in with #eltpics « Sandy Millin

Leave a comment