2010 – looking back

I’ve never really been one for new year resolutions.  When I did use to make them , usually out of a feeling that I should rather than that I wanted to, they were always more or less the same: eat less of whatever, exercise more, manage my time better, you know the kind of thing. And they never actually lasted beyond the first week of January.

But looking back at 2010, I realised that last year I did make a resolution – and I kept it.  And that the fact that I’m writing this post is all part of it.  At the end of 2009 I was overworked and tired. Nothing very unusual about that.  That’s often what December’s like for a lot of people. End of term, end of year, deadlines to meet, presents to buy.  We all know the story. But last year was different. I wasn’t just tired, I was stale.  Work had become a tunnel and life had become a routine, And the resolution I made was much more than a new year’s resolution: it was a personal imperative.

I needed to update, upskill, refresh.  I needed to fall back in love with teaching.

And I did. I discovered Twitter, I discovered blogging, I got back in the classroom after almost a year and a half away.  I got my first chance to use web 2.0 tools with students on a regular, class-by-class basis. I had my first experiences as an online learner.  And my first experiences as a”blended” teacher.  It has been amazing, incredibly stimulating, incredibly challenging and great fun.

So here I am, at the end of 2010.  I’m tired, I’ve been working as hard ever, but I am totally refreshed.  And that’s a cue for a big, big thank you.

Thank you to all my fantastic colleagues, online and off.  Thanks to my great students.  Thanks to my wonderful PLN!

Have a happy holiday and an even  happier 2011.

 

Happy holidays!

ps  If you do call by, and if you do leave a comment, apologies in advanced.  I’m going to be away with friends and family for two weeks, with no – or very little – access to wifi.  See you in the January!

This entry was posted in musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2010 – looking back

  1. Leahn says:

    Hi Ceri,

    I hear you…. glad that you got your mojo back and are now back in love with teaching. I hope you have a great 2011.

    Felicidades,

    Leahn

  2. crazykites says:

    That’s excellent, Ceri. I’m so pleased you regained your passion and learned a whole new set of things. I can only hope that 2011 provides you with even more learning opportunities and valuable experiences. I look forward to hearing and reading about them. Well done on fulfilling a new year resolution. Merry Christmas and Happy 2011.

  3. crazykites says:

    Yes we will have to meet up. At the moment I’ve got first week back after Christmas blues. Teaching is such hard work. I think I’ve forgotten how to do it after the break!

Leave a Reply

